What Is The G7 – When Was G-7 Established, Member Countries? G7 Countries List

What Is The G7: Every country has its own specialty. Some countries come under the category of developed countries and some are under the variety of developing countries. Whether a country is developed or developing depends on many important factors such as per capita income, gross domestic product, technological development, etc. What Is The G7 Let’s know?

What Is The G7

There are more than 195 countries worldwide, some of which are big and some very small. Many countries form groups with each other for the cultural and economic development of their country like ASEAN, SAARC, BRICS, 7 (G7), etc. Today we will talk about G7, what it is G7 and when G7 was established, its headquarters, and member countries, all the information will be given to you in this article.

What Is The G7

G-7 (G-7) which we call the Group of Seven, is an inter-governmental organization, which was started in the year 1975. The G7 is a grouping of the world’s largest modern economies. G7 ie Group of Seven includes the United Kingdom, Canada, Germany, Italy, Japan, America, and France. All of them are part of the G20 in which India is also included.

The Group of Seven countries accounts for more than 58 percent of the global net worth of $317 trillion. A meeting is held once a year between all these 7 countries to discuss issues of common interest such as global economic governance, international security, and energy policy. In the year 2022, the G7 was chaired by Germany.

Key Highlights of Group of Seven (G7)

Full Name Of G7Group of Seven
G7 MembersUnited Kingdom, Canada, Germany, Italy, Japan, USA, France
Russia was included in the G71997 (as 8th member)
G8 Came Into BeingRussia joined in 1997
Build25 March 1973
First G6 Summit15 November 1975
Canada was included in the G61976

Establishment of G7

G-7 (G-7) originated on March 25, 1973. After this, the leaders of West Germany, Great Britain, the U.S., Japan, and Italy were invited by the President of France to Rambouillet (France) in 1975 to discuss the oil crisis. Before 1975, this group was known as G-6. In the year 1976, the country of Canada was included in this group, after which the (G-7) group came into existence. This group including Canada and 6 other countries is known as the Group of Seven (G-7).

Read More: India Launches 75 New Digital Banks

G7 Headquarters

There is no fixed Headquarters of G7 i.e. Group of Seven. Every year in the South, in which country the G-7 conference is to be held, its main office is made there.

What is the purpose of G-7?

G7 Summit

Group of Seven includes the world’s 7 strongest economy countries such as America, Britain, France, Canada, Japan, Germany, and Italy. All these countries’ goals are to protect human rights, uphold the law, and find solutions to ongoing development and global issues by discussing them.


  • In the year 1975, West Germany, France, Japan, Italy, France, the United Kingdom, and the United States formed the Group of Six ie G-6.
  • In 1976, Canada was included in the group G-6, after which all these countries were called the G-7 Group of Seven.
  • In 1976, the first meeting of G-7 countries was organized by the United States of America (USA) in Puerto Rico.
  • The European Union began its full-time participation in the G-7 meetings in 1981 as a non-enumerated member.
  • In the year 1997, Russia was also included in the group of G-7 countries, after which the G-7 came to be known as G-8, but in the year 2014, due to the Crimean dispute, Russia was expelled from this group, and this group Again known as G-7.

which are g7 countries

which are g7 countries

By 2022, the G-7 countries will account for 10 percent of the world’s population, 31 percent of the global GDP, and 21 percent of global carbon dioxide emissions. India and China are not part of this group. The following countries are included in the G-7 group which is as follows –

  1. United Kingdom
  2. Canada
  3. Germany
  4. Italy
  5. Japan
  6. America
  7. France

Russia was made a part of this group in the year 1997, after which this group was called ‘G-8’. In 2014, Russia was expelled from the group following the Crimea dispute. After Russia was expelled, the G-8 was again called the G-7.

G7 Summit

  • The G-7 summit is organized every year.
  • The conference is hosted by the members of the G7 group on a rotation basis.
  • Different global issues are discussed at the summit and their own ideas are presented for their solution.
  • At this conference, representatives of other countries are also invited in addition to the 7 countries of the group.
  • The European Union is also invited to this G7 summit.

How does G-7 work?

G-7 meeting is held every year. The G-7 member countries preside over this meeting in turn. This conference lasts for 2 days. Where global issues are discussed and strategies are decided to solve them.


Where was the first G6 summit held?

The first G6 summit is held in Washington, D.C. Rabillet.

Who hosted the G7 summit in 1977?

In 1977, the Group of Seven (G7) was hosted by the United Kingdom.

When was the Group of Seven (G-7) established?

Group of Seven was established in the year 1975.

In which year Russia was included in the G-7?

In 1997, Russia was included in the G-7 group, after which it came to be known as ‘G-8’.

Due to which dispute Russia was separated from G-7 in the year 2014?

Rush was separated from the G-7 group in 2014 after the Crimea dispute. After the inclusion of Russia in the G-7, the G-7 group was called the ‘G-8’ group. When Russia left the group in 2014, the group was again called the G-7.

Thanks For Visit Iconic Info

May You Also Like

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: